During a moment of introspection last week, I figured it out. I figured out why I don’t fit into your box. I figured out who you want me to be. And I figured out who I am.

Tough Guys – Caroline Jones

cat-box

I am my father’s daughter. I love a challenge. I love responsibility. I thrive in positions of authority, and jump at the opportunity to teach others. I am strong willed, confident, and I have no patience for wasting time. And because of that, your box is too small for me.

box.jpg

I understand that you have some pre-conceived notion for who I should be. You probably have schemas in your mind about how I should behave, how I should dress, and how I should talk.  But I will never be that person.

“You’ll learn, as you get older, that rules are made to be broken. Be bold enough to live life on your terms, and never, ever apologize for it. Go against the grain, refuse to conform, take the road less traveled instead of the well-beaten path. Laugh in the face of adversity, and leap before you look. Dance as though EVERYBODY is watching. March to the beat of your own drummer. And stubbornly refuse to fit in.”
Mandy Hale, The Single Woman: Life, Love, and a Dash of Sass

destined-to-succeed

To me, success means feeling great about the work I do. Success means feelings of accomplishment and satisfaction. Success means overcoming a challenge or obstacle. Success means doing something they said you couldn’t do. Success is “kicking ass and taking names!”

dont-fit-in-boxes

I will not be compliant. I will not be controlled. I will not be muffled. And you just need to accept that. I will strive for my definition of success, not yours. My definition of “done right” and yours may be different. The processes we follow to accomplish a goal may vary. But quality cannot be ignored at the end of the day.

I refuse to “fit in.”

  • Fruits and veggies? I don’t do diets. Pizza and cheeseburgers please.
  • Coffee? No thanks, I’ll grab a carton of milk.
  • Boots over heels, anyday.
  • Jeans please; you can’t do anything in a dress.
  • Make-up? Most likely not.
  • Hoping that I’ll sit down and shut up? Keep dreaming! 😉
  • Think I can’t do something? Watch me.
  • I ride a horse and a skidoo; I hate shopping and manicures. 
  • I spend my weekends sweating in a barn, not in a sauna at the spa.
  • I drive a truck, not a little foreign car, and that won’t ever change. 
  • Something breaks – you call for help. Me? Give some tools and I’ll figure out how to fix the damn thing myself. 

I know my worth. I know what I am capable of. I love a challenge. And if you stand in my way, I may struggle, but in the end, I will show you what it means to succeed. 

Fight Like A Girl – Bomshel

horse-crowd-quote

